About SASA & Current Officers

AboutSASA-logo-vertical

The Southeastern American Studies Association is the largest regional chapter of the American Studies Association (U.S.A.). SASA presents new developments and findings in American Studies scholarship, identifies and defines areas of debate about the nature of American culture and its study, and conducts cultural and historical programs on the Southeast and its communities. SASA holds a biennial conference, with recent meetings at Emory University (2019) The College of William and Mary (2017), Kennesaw State University (2015), College of Charleston (2013), Georgia State University (2011), and George Mason University (2009). Conference themes are broad and inclusive to encompass such topics as art and architecture, black literature and music, American Studies as cultural critique, the cultural uses of photography, Native American Studies, popular culture, Southern literature and women’s studies. The SASA Constitution can be found here.

Current Board

Scott Peeples, College of Charleston
President

peeplesS@cofc.edu

Rebecca Hill, Kennesaw State University
Vice President

rhill54@kennesaw.edu

Michael Innis-Jiménez, University of Alabama
Secretary/Treasurer

ij@ua.edu

 

Alisha Gaines, Florida State University

amgaines@fsu.edu

Nghana T. Lewis, Tulane University

nlewis2@tulane.edu

Charlie McGovern, The College of William and Mary

cfmcgo@wm.edu

Krystyn Moon, University of Mary Washington
Past President

kmoon@umw.edu

Dennis Moore, Florida State University
SASA’s Representative (2007-2019) on the ASA’s Regional Chapters Committee and Past President

dmoore@fsu.edu

Betsy Schlabach, Earlham College

betsyschlabach@gmail.com

 

Claire Bunschoten, UNC-Chapel Hill
Graduate Representative

c.bunschoten@unc.edu

Kenneth L. Johnson, Florida State University
Graduate Representative

kennethl2.johnson@gmail.com

Margaret T. McGehee, Oxford College of Emory University
Immediate Past President

mmcgehe@emory.edu