About SASA & Current Officers


The Southeastern American Studies Association is the largest regional chapter of the American Studies Association (U.S.A.). SASA presents new developments and findings in American Studies scholarship, identifies and defines areas of debate about the nature of American culture and its study, and conducts cultural and historical programs on the Southeast and its communities. SASA holds a biennial conference, with recent meetings in Atlanta (2023); Birmingham (2022); Emory University (2019) The College of William and Mary (2017), Kennesaw State University (2015), College of Charleston (2013), Georgia State University (2011), and George Mason University (2009). Conference themes are broad and inclusive to encompass such topics as art and architecture, black literature and music, American Studies as cultural critique, the cultural uses of photography, Native American Studies, popular culture, Southern literature and women’s studies. The SASA Constitution can be found here.

Current Board

Rebecca Hill, Kennesaw State University

Elijah Gaddis, Auburn University
Vice President

Michael Innis-Jiménez, University of Alabama

Alisha Gaines, Florida State University

Jannah Mitchell, Florida State University
Graduate Student Representative

Lydia Pelot-Hobbs, University of Kentucky

Margaret T. McGehee, Oxford College of Emory University
Past President

Erich Nunn, Auburn University

Amy K. King, Tuskegee University

Patricia Ventura, Spelman College